A. Requirement to report child abuse or neglect. Every Provider or Staff Member must immediately contact the Department of Health and Human Service’s Child Protective Intake hotline (800-452-1999) when they suspect Child Abuse or Neglect.
** This Mandated Reporter Worksheet is information that will be requested/required at the time a report is made to Child Protective Intake. It is not necessarily expected that you will have all of this information available when you file a report. The more information you have available, the clearer the decision the Child Protective Intake workers and supervisors will then be able to act upon.
B. (NEW) Provider requirement to inform. The Provider must inform all Staff Members during orientation of their status as Mandated Reporters and their responsibility to report to the Department of Health and Human Services whenever there is reasonable cause to suspect Abuse or Neglect of a Child, and comply with ongoing Mandated Reporter training for all Staff Members as provided in Section 8 of this Rule.
C. (NEW) Written instruction provided. Staff members must receive written instructions regarding Child Abuse or Neglect reporting that contains a summary of the State of Maine Child abuse reporting statute and a statement that they will not be discharged or disciplined solely because they have made a Child Abuse or Neglect report.
D. (NEW) Hotline number posted. The Provider must ensure that the telephone number of the Department’s Child Protective Intake hotline is posted in a readily accessible central location on the Premises.
To report child abuse or neglect:
Deaf/Hard of Hearing – 711 (Maine Relay)
The Maine Child and Family Services line is staffed 24-hours a day, 7-days a week.
FCCAM-PLC Mandated Report Folder contains informational material on child abuse and neglect, information about reporting/following process and sample language for provider’s policy/procedure now required by this FCC Licensing Rule.
Back to: Table of Contents