REMINDER: Child Care Subsidy Program (CCSP) began reimbursing based on enrollment versus attendance on 03/27/21 through 9/30/23 or until funding is no longer available.
- Providers may bill up to the maximum hours on a child’s award letter, whether the child is in attendance or not.
- When a Child is absent from the program beyond two (2) consecutive weeks for the same Reasonable Cause, the Child Care Provider must obtain prior written approval from the Department to continue Child Care Subsidy Payment.
- Parents still need to report absences to their provider. Unacceptable Absence means a lack of attendance by a Child at the Child Care Service for more than two (2) calendar days per month without Reasonable Cause or previous approval from the Department.
- Providers must still complete billing forms. Regular Hours will be the actual hours the child is in attendance and Excused Hours will be the hours added to bring the child up to the maximum authorization allowed as approved on the award letter.
Subsidy Income Eligibility Amounts Effective 05/14/2022 until further notice
|FAMILY SIZE||ANNUAL INCOME||MONTHLY INCOME (ANNUAL/12)||WEEKLY INCOME (ANNUAL/52)|
Add 3% for additional family members. For families with more than one child in care, the youngest child is always considered the first child enrolled. The total amount of assessed fees to a family shall not exceed 10% of the family’s gross income for all of their children.
Weekly fee assessments must be rounded down to the nearest dollar. All assessed parent fees shall be paid directly to the caregiver by the parent.
SUBSIDY (CCSP) Eligibility: (this infographic explains differences between programs. The weekly Income listed is just an example. It is not the current level.)
Licensed Providers at reimbursed at the 75th percentile of the Market Rate Survey per Maine statute.
- The latest Market Rates went into effect July 3, 2021
- Market Rates are by county, by license type, and by child age
Initiatives increasing the weekly reimbursement providers receive.
- Infant Stipend (ongoing)
- $100 per infant receiving CCSP with an award of 20 or more in care
- Program’s staff must be in compliance with the required CCDF state approved 6-hour health and safety training at the time of each payment cycle o Programs must be participating in the Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS) at any step
- Programs must have an updated registry of staff in Maine Roads to Quality (MRTQ)
- Infant defined as a child six (6) weeks of age through twelve (12) months of age Maine Department of Health and Human Services 3 Child Care Subsidy Program (CCSP) Reimbursement Rates
- Infant/Toddler 10% Bump (ongoing)
- Programs must be participating in the Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS) at any step o Programs must have an updated registry of staff in Maine Roads to Quality (MRTQ)
- Toddler defined as a child (12) months through thirty-six (36) months of age
- Children with documented special needs (submitted with a parent’s CCSP Application) receive an additional 35% rate increase (ongoing)
- QRIS Bump (time-limited)
- Step 2 – 3% bump (from 10/02/21 through 9/30/23)
- Step 3 – 10% bump (from 10/02/21 through 9/30/23)
- Step 4 – 15% bump (from 10/02/21 through 9/30/23)
Contact Information for CCSP
- By phone at 1-877-680-5866 or (207) 624-7999
- By email at CCSP.DHHS@maine.gov
- By fax at (207) 287-6308